Jeep prep questions for Colorado Trip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jeep prep questions for Colorado Trip

I'm new to off-roading and I'm planning my first off-road trip to Ouray Colorado. My jeep (JKU 17' Sahara) is pretty much stock. The mods I've done so far are 3 1/2" lift and 35" tires, quick disconnects, and sturdy spare tire carrier. I'm needing good advice on what additional mods I need to handle most of the Beginner/Moderate/Imogene/Engineer Pass trails in Ouray.

My biggest concern is the gearing on my Jeep. I feel the stock gears are inadequate for those San Juan Mt. inclines. I plan to replace my front Dana 30 axel with a 44 and add 4.88 gears to it. My rear axel is already a 44 (stock). I just need to regear it too. I don't see myself needing lockers for these trails, but again I've never been there and i've never done off-roading. Any advice would be helpful.

I have so many future upgrades I have planned for my jeep, but I need to know what is vital to have done before I take this trip.

I would do lockers when you regear since you are already in there. Much better to have them when you need them than to not.
    Jeff Brint
    LSJC Trail Leader - LSJC Moderator
    2013 JKU Rubicon w/Antirocks, Front Artec Truss & Gusseted, Full Rock Hard Skids, RK 3.5" Max Travel, 37" Nittos, Beadlocks, PS Front Stinger, 10K Winch, LoD Rock Sliders, LoD Shorty Rear w/Tire Carrier
    2018 White JLU Sahara, leather, 2" lift, 35" Nitto Ridge Grapplers

Comment

Also, may consider some under carriage skid plates and rocker armor.

And definitely a winch and recovery gear.
      Jeff Brint
      2013 JKU Rubicon w/Antirocks, Front Artec Truss & Gusseted, Full Rock Hard Skids, RK 3.5" Max Travel, 37" Nittos, Beadlocks, PS Front Stinger, 10K Winch, LoD Rock Sliders, LoD Shorty Rear w/Tire Carrier

Comment

X100 what Jeff said

Comment

One of the best things you can do for wheeling around the Ouray / Silverton area is….NOT TO WHEEL ALONE...!